making the right decision

jeffstone

Hello everyone :),i'm Jeff from Tanzanian ,i am a self taught 3d artist and work in an architectural visualization firm ,I wondered whether I can get some advice from you guys. The problem that I have is that I am paid peanuts compared to what the guys who hired me are earning from the renders:(. I don't know everything and I still have alot to learn but I can make better renders compared to the guys I work for.

Before I started working there I found it very hard to find work since there isn't much of an archviz industry where I come from even though there's alot of real estate development ,to be honest the people here don't know much about Archviz and how it can help them with there projects.

I wanted to start my own archviz firm and I was wondering whether it was the right decision, I know starting a business is hard but I am willing to face the challenges .

If you were in my position what would you do and how would you go about it ?Also don't worry about hurting my feelings:p just tell as it is.

being able to create images is only a small part of being successful in this business for very long. Imagine trying to find a new job every week. If you found it difficult to find employment with a studio that funnels work directly to your desk, how much more difficult will it be for you to do that yourself while also being responsible for doing the work? creatively talented people are usually horrible business people and vice versa.

• 4 weeks later...

I totally agree with John, You mentioned that they get paid more than what they pay you, you need to consider that they have cost to keep their business moving, Transportation, Software, Hardware, their salaries, your salary, office supplies and more. If you can compare your salary with other arch Viz in your area then you can decide if you are under payed or it is the normal.