Autodesk Stingray and the future

Jon Berntsen

Now as the Stingray engine starts to mature, how are you guys looking at it as a competitor to Unreal Engine?

For me, Stingray starts to unveil itself with a lot of opportunities for us who already work with max and vray. Looks like a platform for the future to me. Obviously the biggest issue with realtime engines is that you still need engines like vray or corona to do good high resolution still images. So you're bound to two platforms. So if you want to make add/transform your project into a realtime one, Stingray should be right on the spot. What do you think? Will Stingray still be around 5 years from now?

I been using Stingray for a year now, and I am pretty happy with it so far, I think I have more flexibility to create stuff inside Stingray that I did in Unreal or Unity.

Now Unreal is a way more mature software, no questions you can do much more stuff than is not possible on Stingray yet, but since I am not a programmer I found stingray easy to learn and quicker to do simple stuff.

Right now what really make a difference is the large community that Unreal has, you can find almost anything pre-made, it is like comparing VRay-Max with Cinema-Redshift.

I work in an Architectural Company so for other users my opinion won't apply of course. but I believe if Autodesk don't mess up, Stingray could become the go to tool to do Real-time ArchViz or VR ArchViz. Exporting REVIT model in to Stingray through 3D Max it pretty straight forward.

What I am afraid is that Stingray get shrinked down to a one click solution for the AEC industry with no options .

Regarding comparing Raytracer rendering with real time rendering, I believe that our industry will change a lot in the coming years.

Considering the quality that you can get out of Unreal vs how long it take you to prep and render an animation in VRay, I think those times are changing rapidly in favor of real time engines, it is just crazy.