Halo effect around objects when rendering image..

dylanlester1

Still relatively new to Vray. This is my first project doing some post-work. I'm getting an issue with some of my objects having a weird halo around them and not sitting well with backplates when combined in Photo Designer.

I've combed through the forumns and I've found that I should be rendering against a black background?

"But what you should have done in rendering, is to render against black background, without any additional AA filter." - Juraj Talcik

http://forums.cgarchitect.com/77167-how-remove-halo-effect-alpha-channel.html

How do I go about doing this?

Well, if you're using HDRI/dome light to light the scene you simply tick the "invisible" option.

So should I be rendering against a blank background and not the HDRI?

BTW, what's the preffered GI engine for external renders with lots of foilage these days? Brute force or Irradiance?

This may not be relevant but I always make sure the Environment Map under 'Environment and Effects' has been copied over to the GI Environment slot and the Reflection/refraction Environment slot in the Vray settings. Additionally that the map under Environment and Effects is unticked. This issue is specifically for halos around objects that are against the background.

This may not be relevant but I always make sure the Environment Map under 'Environment and Effects' has been copied over to the GI Environment slot and the Reflection/refraction Environment slot in the Vray settings. Additionally that the map under Environment and Effects is unticked. This issue is specifically for halos around objects that are against the background.

I've always been confused by what this actually does (environment and effects slot)

I loaded my HDRI like normal but it also instanced into this slot. Every tutorial I've seen - they remove it completely. Which is what I've just done and I think this fixed my issue. I'll know tomorrow when my render is done.