Vray noise problem

angiek

Hello, Disclaimer: I'm new to 3Ds Max and Vray in general so no judge pls.

Well on the topic, I have this problem with Vray When I render image it comes out with these dots/noise. I don't know why, I tried switching from brute force to irradiance map, I removed textures, though that was the problem, didn't help, moved windows lights into the house and after out the house it won't intersect with scene geometry, results end up a bit better. Here's my settings and render outcome, please help :/

0.PNG

1.PNG

2.PNG

4.PNG

5.PNG

shiet3.jpg

shit01.jpg

Hey Angie,

Aaaahh...the dreaded Vray noise problem...

First of all, you always need to post what versions of the software you're using...it makes it very hard for people to help you if they dont know. Software is changing all the time and different versions have their different quirks. Vray was completely overhauled recently, so very important to know there.

Your main problem is under 'Progressive Image Sampler' you have Render Time (min) set to 1, which tells the Vray to stop after only 1 minute of rendering...which is not anywhere near enough time to clean up your image to your set noise threshold of .005. (this was an oversight by chaos group of making the default 1 min....I can't count all the forum posts from problems due to this....)

Setting 'Render Time (min)' to '0' effectively disables a time limit and lets your render run its course until desired noise level is reached. Your render will come out a lot cleaner.

The other big problem is that you have 'Use local subdivs' checked under 'Global DMC'. Very bad unless you REALLY know what you are doing...but if that were the case, you wouldn't have that checked.