mental ray vs. vray

gdamaso88

I've been working with 3dviz 2005 and mental ray for the past 6 months. I've gotten to the point where I know what I am doing and I know how to get the scene rendered well with materials, lighting and all. But my problem is time. I have found that for myself that mental ray seems a bit time consuming. I've been looking at other posts to see what the opinions are about vray and mental ray and I haven't found too much. I found that there is a preference for vray over mental ray on a poll on this site, but I would like to hear some opinions about the production time of vray vs. mental ray, as well as the it's pros and cons, learning curve etc. I downloaded the free version and found it somewhat simple to navigate through.

Can't say for Vray, at least not yet, but I am currently beginning comparisons between Final Render, Mental Ray, VRay, and, eventually, Brazil.

So far, Final Render is just faster to render and faster to set up (which pretty much confirms what everyone is saying - MR is slower and mroe complex).

But I've only played with MR for a few days, so it'll take more to make a conclusion.

I'd try VRay free/demo, or what ever they have, and ask Turbo Squid for a Final Render demo (fully functional 30 day demo).

Hi Eugene, I am using finalRender and Vray, both are great tools. fR is pretty fast, you have easier settings to control quality and speed and they are pretty clear, Vray has the way to control that but they have their own vocabulary..., so it took me more time to understand it....Vray has an excellent displacement, and fR has great shaders..I prefer fR for interiors and vray for exteriors...I have tried to use MR, but it's very very slow, and two engines for GI is enought for me!

Good luck!!!