What is the current situation of GPU renderers?

zhopudey

Hi all,

I'm an archviz professional working with max and vray. I'm wondering about GPU rendering and thinking about giving it a try. Does anyone here use any of the GPU renderers on a regular basis? What are you opinions about Octane and Redshift? (I suppose FStorm is stuck in legal hassels).

Hi all,

I'm an archviz professional working with max and vray. I'm wondering about GPU rendering and thinking about giving it a try. Does anyone here use any of the GPU renderers on a regular basis? What are you opinions about Octane and Redshift? (I suppose FStorm is stuck in legal hassels).

Hi Zhopudey,

what is the configuration of your current workstation?

What is the main reason for switching to GPU renderer, render speed?

I'm personally not a Vray user but I suppose many features which allows you to create artistic look in Vray, might not exist yet for the GPU renderers. So, if you are OK with this, then don't hesitate to try out a trial version of Redshift. I've heard only good things about it. It really performs well in general.

https://kallai.net

I'm building a new workstation, and have to decide whether to get a basic gpu just for max viewport, or go for a beefier gpu to try out redshift/octane etc. I currently only use vray cpu, but wish to learn these new renderers. Been reading a lot of good things about redshift.

Redshift is a great GPU renderer without limitations you face with others (such as GPU ram limit), this should change across the board in time now RS have it worked out.