Importing revit - worth the trouble?

heni30

I'm emailing an architectural studio about doing renderings and they do everything in Revit.

Is it worth the hassle to mess with their models? I would have no control of Revit production at their end.

I have zero experience with Revit.

Some people will not use 3rd party models and insist on modeling from scratch in Max.

Is it worth the trouble to install Revit, learn it, then go back and forth dealing with importing issues. Then have to fix/organize geometry and re-map?

Is using an imperfect import as a guide/template to model in Max from scratch an option?

Thanks!

Why would you model it from scratch? do you want to completely retopo their model? but what for?

If your job is to make only the renders than in my opinion tell them to send you an exported FBX file from Revit, load it to Max, place your cameras, setup a lighting, and do some test renders with override grey material, if you spot issues in some part of the model you can always fix them by poly-modeling or replace them individually not the whole model, plus if you wish to add details (chamfers, imperfections, subdivisions) do it only to some elements that will appear in the camera view, and just ignore everything else even if the geometry is chaotic! if it's not seen in the cameras than its fine you don't want to be perfectionist.

I wouldn't say there are all that many issues importing Revit into Max. At any rate it's faster for most projects than to model from scratch.

I use FBX to import and then I manually collapse by name (Revit names like items tagging with a unique number at the end). This collapse will often take 30k objects down to 60 or so. Revit has issues with scale on import (it's probably me), but usually all objects consider themselves 1200% so I normally have to use an xform to get materials to map at reasonable sizes. As a last effort I re-org the layers and delete the Helpers leftover.