Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Anyone here have Argo's/Vertex BD experience?

Name
    Super Dave Osborne
    Forum Username
    MegaPixel

United_States

Default Anyone here have Argo's/Vertex BD experience?

I was wondering if anyone here has hands on experience with/or has seen Argo's or Vertex BD products in action? They are fairly specialized Architectural Design programs which I will be required to learn very quickly if I accept a particular job offer.

I'm just looking for thoughts about the products, comparisons to other industry Arch. modelers, ease of use, portability to MAX/VIZ, etc...

Thanks for your time - MegaPixel

Name
    Aaron Nordstrom
    Forum Username
    Aaron2004

United_States

Default Re: Anyone here have Argo's/Vertex BD experience?

Yeah, I have some experience...my school teaches it, plus I interned for a summer at a Vertex Consulting Business. I think people people feel differently about it. For me, I feel that it is a very VERY powerful program, but the learning curve is kind of high. When you say you plan to learn it 'quickly'...I don't know how much of it you plan to learn. I'm afraid that it might be kind of like saying you hope to learn 3D Studio 'quickly'...there are so many different aspects that to learn them ALL it would take a bit of time.

Here is the section of my portfolio dedicated to it:

http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~anordstr/vertex/vertex.htm

The 3D walkthroughs were made in Max. It exports to a 3DS file format very easily. The Vertices aren't welded on the objects, but i'm sure that there is a really easy script you can write to get them to. Also, the objects aren't named very well. They come in as #1, #2, #3....it would be nice if vertex would export them as door #1 or wall #1. But to answer your question, they do come into 3DS accurately.