Anyone here have Argo's/Vertex BD experience?

MegaPixel

I was wondering if anyone here has hands on experience with/or has seen Argo's or Vertex BD products in action? They are fairly specialized Architectural Design programs which I will be required to learn very quickly if I accept a particular job offer.

I'm just looking for thoughts about the products, comparisons to other industry Arch. modelers, ease of use, portability to MAX/VIZ, etc...

Thanks for your time - MegaPixel

Yeah, I have some experience...my school teaches it, plus I interned for a summer at a Vertex Consulting Business. I think people people feel differently about it. For me, I feel that it is a very VERY powerful program, but the learning curve is kind of high. When you say you plan to learn it 'quickly'...I don't know how much of it you plan to learn. I'm afraid that it might be kind of like saying you hope to learn 3D Studio 'quickly'...there are so many different aspects that to learn them ALL it would take a bit of time.

Here is the section of my portfolio dedicated to it:

http://web.ics.purdue.edu/~anordstr/vertex/vertex.htm

The 3D walkthroughs were made in Max. It exports to a 3DS file format very easily. The Vertices aren't welded on the objects, but i'm sure that there is a really easy script you can write to get them to. Also, the objects aren't named very well. They come in as #1, #2, #3....it would be nice if vertex would export them as door #1 or wall #1. But to answer your question, they do come into 3DS accurately.

I don't know what you can compare it too really...I guess Revit might be the closest, but there are a lot like it, it's just that Vertex is very customizeable and can do 'options', which are really big with production builders. If you know how to program, you will have a good time with Vertex. If you can't program, you can still use it of course, you just won't be able to do as many custom things as you may like.