Market size for architectural walkthrough software

stefand

Hi there!

I am working on software for virtual walkthroughs for architecture, archeology, city planning, etc. It is based on some automatic polygon reduction scheme, supports lightmaps (even computes some simple GI itself), and it comes with an option to use VRML or its own multi-platform, web-based or standalon viewer.

Though it should be good at reducing data, and provide a useful walkthrough system, it won't do too much interaction. There will also be some quality reduction, but how much this will be an issue, I cannot yet tell. The user will be able to trade off quality and (computation/run) time and amount of data generated.

Since I plan to do it for a living - I am entrepreneur of sorts - I am about to set up a businessplan. [For those who raise an eyebrow about my way of writing this up in such a forum: I am living in Europe, and I am not that deep into setting up a business, yet ;) ].

Although I am sure that there is an interest in such a tool, it is hard for me to give a number of possible sales. To make an educated guess, I am trying to find out numbers like, and I am having a hard time getting them:

- how many users of Max/Maya/Lightscape are out there used in architecture (I am doing a plugin)?

- how many architectural projects are using VR now?

- how many architects are interested (would buy) in a simple walkthrough solution?

- any profound hints to real market numbers?

Another question is, which would be the best 3D app(s) to make such a plugin for?

Thanks for bearing with me with this business stuff. I hope you will be able to discuss some of my results here when they are done!

Hi Stefan,

good to know that there are still a few native entrepreneurs in Europe, go for it!

Here is my opinion in this;