New to 3ds max

choppir

Hi guys,

I'm new to 3ds max. Still trying to get my head around it. Been on Cinema 4D and VrayforC4D for years, but just expanding my knowledge, leaning 3ds max and VRay for max.

I've got a few questions:

- I'm trying to do simple commands like cutting through an object. Is there a way to cut a straight line?

- Is there a difference between editable poly, mesh, patch, nurbs? Isn't it the same thing?

- How do I untriangulate an object when it is imported?

- How do I drop an object to the 0 axis. I dont wanna move it manually.

Help would be much appreciated!

cheers

choppir

Edited by choppir

Hiya Choppir,

There's several ways to cut through an object. There's the slice modifier (this one has options to remove the top or bottom half or just slice the mesh), or you could work in editable poly mode and use the slice plane/quickslice tool.

Editable poly and Mesh are quite similar, Mesh is an older version iirc, I always use poly. I don't use nurbs or patches, but as far as I know they work with bezier curves to define your object.

I'm not sure what you mean by untriangulate, but I usually convert the object to editable poly and I can start editing it.

If you rightclick the 'select and move' tool, you get a popup box where you can type in your transforms. If you rightclick the values in coordinate system 'world', it will set the value to 0. If you rightclick on all 3 axis, your object will be placed with its pivot point at 0,0,0

I hope this helps :)

Davy.