Newbie request for workflow suggestion.

andyH

Hi everyone, I am very new to 3d, and I have just completed a max course.

I am building up to do an arch-viz project for a friend (and also to add to my portfolio) of a small residential development (2 story house). I received the cad files from the architect this morning, and I have had a look at them using a free dwg viewer. The files include 2d floor plans, elevations and a site plan. Looks like everything I need to get started.

My question is this. I dont have autocad, just 3ds Max 2010. So I want to get started by simply modeling the house. I was hoping that someone may be able to give me a hint about how best to create the 3d geometry in max when starting out with two .dwg files, one is site plan, the other contains floor plan and elevations. I know that the .dwg imports into max, but its just one big flat 2d thing in my viewport.

So whats the best approach to workflow to break this thing up and make it a useable accurate reference in Max, or do I need to consider some intermediate product to do the job?

Many thanks in advance.

hey andrew,

First of all it is important to know how the drawing has been made...... is it in layers or in one layer only etc etc. The layers could also be locked or frozen. you can check this out when u import the file into max. Check out all the import options. judgin by what you have written the drawing was made using one single layer so it comes in as one 2d object. You can snap to the endpoints, midpoints etc by turning on the snap inside max. Some screen captures of ur import settings and on screen display in max can facilitate better understanding of ur problems.

Best of luck till then

Many thanks for the reply. You are correct the elevations and floorplans are all in one drawing (dwg file) and one layer. The site plan is a seperate drawing and is also on one layer.

Attached is my max screenshot with the floorplan.dwg imported using defaults.