units not dynamic, it looks like

Ah, crap.

It looks like I'm dealing with yet another app that uses generic 'units' and not real-world ones. I know Autocad is like that, and I think MAX, but I didn't know C4D was. I'm not very happy about that. Actually, I'm more that a little unhappy about that.

In the CAD program I have been using for about 18 years you can switch between english and metric with a single click. A door that was made as 7 feet will now measure as about 1 meter (inaccuracy is my brain, not the program). Switch right back to feet, or inches, cm to mm to km. Your data never gets scaled and you never get confused. If you are working in english units but have a metric file to add, just put it in meters, import, then back to english and the new stuff is correct.

Lightscape is like that, too.

In C4D I was bringing together a number of car models that have come from different sourses. Some were set as cm in the original files, some as inches and some as meters. So importing these into ONE file where they will all co-exist at ONE correct size is proving to be less than quick and easy.

How do the rest of you handle this issue? Do you just get used to scaling stuff after import?

you really are exploring all the options here m8, good plan :)

c4d is like all other 3d apps in general. personally all my 3d importing goes through acad first to get the correct units. i've NEVER seen this as a hinderance. all these points you're bringing up recently reffer not only to c4d but to max and other 3d apps too. lightscape is so linked to acad you wouldn't get that problem.

my advice is to learn to live with slight changes to your work raigime. you will get used to it like second nature in no time m8 believe me. it's just one of the occupational hazzards of dealing with 3d apps other than a cad proggy unfortunately.