What softwares does a 3D architectural visualizer need to possess?

Sheldon

I have a couple of questions related to this topic..

1) What softwares does a 3D architectural visualizer need to possess?

I am a student who has learnt 3ds Max and Maya..Read alot about Revit being used in a lot of firms in India. Need to do something in

modelling texturing lighting.. as in related to career in the above field..

(Sorry one question only ;))

Its sort of an open ended question. The easy answer is which ever software allows you to turn out quality renderings in the required time frame. Everyone takes a different route it seems. The most common software (IMHO) is 3D Max, Vray, and Photoshop. There are many other routes to achieve results.

As far as Revit, it really isn't designed as a rendering type of software, it mearly has some rendering possibilities. My advice is if you want to work as a architectural visualizer then learn as much as you can with rendering software.

@ Kippu : thanks for the tip. :) ive been reading alot all over the web and finally ended up on cgarchitect with something that i was looking for.. yes will read through forums and search for more information. Its just that I am so confused done max done maya now mudbox on the way at classes.. after that all is done.. i like modelling which is why i liked the above mentioned field. Considering you are a veteran level member.. does this field (3d architectural visualisation) require me to have some knowledge of architecture? Cos im a complete newbie to interiors n stuff.. do i need to know to read blueprints and stuff?

@carlotristan3d: What is BIM? im new to all this.. :(

@frank1331: thanks a heap for the advice.. So you suggest i choose a particular software and work on 3d max and leave maya aside? Why is maya not used in this field of work? i mean its not all that bad.. is it that vray renders are better in 3dsmax?

thanks again all you guys really need help with this.. :(