VRAY 1.5 SP6 & 3DS design render problems!

rstewart75

I am still relatively new to using vray and as a architecture student i really would like to master vray but after reading and looking at countless hours of tutorials i am still at a lost. everytime i try to render, they either take too long and don't look good or just don't look good to begin with. the image always ends up being too bright or too dark and materials look washed out. could someone PLEASE help me so i can finally start to produce good renderings.

The attached image i couldn't even finish because i just kept increasing in time (i am on a time limit as I have a project due on tuesday and have invested my project in 3ds+vray and can't bail now)

the settings i used were :

adaptive subdivision (-1,2) clr thresh .01

reinhard (mult-1.0 burn .35 gamma1.8)

IM/LC (min-5,max-3 hsph subdiv 80 interp samples 20)/ (sub-1000 sample size .02 3 of passes 8

I think you forgot to attach the image, but to start, I will recommend, reset your V Ray since you are not to savvy with V Ray I would recommend you to start using the presents, default values are good enough for quick renders.

but first, set your Max gamma to 2.2 ( you can find more information than you can read about it online but for now just set it to 2.2 in all slot available)

then in VRay panel, activate VRay Buffer, set your color mapping to Linear, leave everything else as is, then in indirect illimination set IM to low, LC to 1000, sample size to 0.02 scale screen.

put your light source, if it is sun light, place a VRAy sun, when ask you to add sky to the environment say yes.

insert a VRay camera (this is very important) if it is a day shot, you can leave the values as they are, or change to Fstop 16, speed 80 ISO 100, if the image get to bright increase the speed if it is to dark lower the speed.