problem with hidden lights

fadi3d

hi there,

i have this annoying problem : i hide the Vray lights with (Shift + L) bet whenever i render and stop or sometimes when i Click in the vie they get Unhidden.if anybody knows why or how to keep them hidden (whithout putting them in a Layer an hiding the Layer) please tell me

i am using max 2011 and vray 2.0

thank you.

Go into you're layer manager and click on the lights hide and a pair of binoculars will come up now they are hidden go LT or Rt click on the lights go down to object properties and under interactivity check or tick the hide button then click on ok

Edited by datacrasher

The above is same as right clicking on the object and selecting hide selection from quad>upper right section; no need to use layer manager for that. Of course I am a newbie here, but I have been using 3D studio since dos version 2 (1992) and training students+practicing architects, just to make things little clearer for 'doubting thomas' type souls :)

If only the number of posts against one's name makes somebody feel ultra superior, so be it, to each one his own.....

Edited by umeshraut

Sorry guys but that didn't help.

i don't want to right click and select hide.what i want is when using Shift + L to hide the lights i want them to stay hidden untill i use Shift + L AGAIN

but what is happening is the are automatically unhidden when i hit render and cancel

i hope someone has a solution or maybe it is just a bug ????

Maybe there is some other cause to it, but I would lay my vote down on it being a bug. The only way, to my knowledge, lights become active in the viewport after you shift+L, hide them is when you go to place another light in the scene. The same is true for geometry and splines and all of the other hide by categories.

Have you merged into a new scene or tried just replacing the lights?