Revit to Unity workflow problems

bendalton

Hey everyone. I have a problem that has been making me pull my hair out all week! I'm a newbie to all of this and I'm just hoping someone may be able to help me out.

I am trying to create workflows from the major BIM platforms; Revit, Sketchup etc... into the gaming engine Unity3D to allow for a 3D immersive environment which could be run in a CAVE (Cave automatic virtual environment).

I seem to be having major problems with Revit. This is my current workflow for getting a model into Unity:

Open up a 3D view of a project in Revit > Export FBX from Revit > Open 3ds Max > import the FBX from Revit > accept default settings > Click ‘render production’ on the main toolbar (if you cannot see the toolbar, press Alt+6) > Under ‘render preset’ select ‘mental.ray.daylighting.high’ and select ‘load’ > Export into the ‘Assets’ Directory of a Unity project > Warnings appear regarding the geometries, and too many material faces.

I am making sure that I am embedding media.

The project loses most of its textures and only basic colours appear, which for me is not satisfactory. I know that there are programs you can buy which work around this problem, however, I am a student and cannot afford to dish out if there is an alternative! If anyone could give me advice on this, I would be entirely grateful. Thanks!

Ben

My advice, don't use Revit! Are you using jpegs? Unity has to auto convert jpegs as they are the worst thing to use in real time. Are your textures square in size and a power of 2? If not, Unity has to again auto convert to square power of 2 images, ie 2048x2048. Unity has a 64k face limit as well.

You cannot simply just export from Revit and not expect to jump through 4,000 hoops. Model it properly in Max and with a modular design in mind so you just have to model the major parts and assemble them in Unity.