VR yes or no?

innerdream

I just spent the week on a UE4 scene, granted I'm not an expert in the software and have not used it in about 6 months. Anyhow, is VR too new to make it viable for commercial rendering artists? In other words is there too much labor involved to make the cost affordable on a large scale?

Edited by innerdream

Hi Rober,

from my experience VR is here to stay, we like it or not, looking carefully all around you'll see this is not a fail trend like it was Stereoscopic 3D, or 3D TV and movies. VR Will have many more applications besides entertainment, and that's the strength of it.

Having said that, We as Visualization professional should at least look in to the process of creation of VR/360 presentations and and see if it can fit in our workflow and budget.

I work in a fast moving production environment. and Yes we can fit VR/360 in our presentation, but they are not all flashy Unreal presentations.

It seems that in our community Unreal becomes a sim of VR and this is wrong. There are an increasing number of VR/360 tools that can fit with not much overload in a design process and production process. Of course you can do the "final" all flashy Unreal VR presentation but to me that it is like doing animation, not for every client, not for every project.

I Have prepared a few VR/360 presentation already, in different design stages and even tho the quality varies depending of the software all of them had produced a great feedback from designers and clients.

Not all VR presentation has to be a "Scandinavian minimalist room" ;)

Let me know if you need more info PM me ;)

Well everybody want to create a lord of the ring animation but for sure they don't have the budget for it :p