What's life like at an archviz company?

Jinmu Staddon

Hello everyone! I'm currently working in house at an AEC (specialized in industrial buildings) as an archviz artist and involved with graphic design, marketing, etc. I have about 12 years of experience doing mostly visualization, but some product design, 3D modeling for products, and other tangential work.

I'm curious about what life is like at creative firms like dbox, Binyan, Brick, and places like that. As an artist surrounded by engineers, it sounds like it would be awesome to be surrounded by people with similar passions and values. I'm sure working at a place like that presents its own unique challenges as well as some that are just ubiquitous in business. Can anyone out there who has experience at a firm like that shed some light on what it's really like? I feel like I probably have a romanticized view of it.

Also, just general life of the archviz artist discussion if people are interested. I don't know a lot of people in the industry (been living under a rock I guess!), so I'm just trying to get some perspective. Really curious about what everyone's experience has been. Cheers!

It's all the same really since we all deal with clients. What you see on those companies social media feeds are probably a small fraction of the actual projects they work on. The projects you never see are the ones that keep the doors open, which are the standard a-typical visualization work. There was a great talk on this year's Academy Days from Pedro Fernandez (Arqui 9) called Visual Poetry, and he covers an image that started off great but was brutally mauled by client requests/directives. This year's Academy Days are free to watch if you sign up, so I highly recommend checking that one out.