Help on how to get started in the Visualization business

Ariokah

Hi everyone,

I've recently been trying to shift from the architectural to the visualization world, for the last months I've been training myself on how get better results on my renders and improving my portfolio, I've put a little variety of different scale projects to showcase the work I can do and have been applying to visualization firms around London since then. Now being a junior artist, I've been struggling a little bit on my applications, many times the job ads I find in London, always require +2/4 years of working experience and knowledge of certain other rendering software's which honestly happen to be nearly the same as the ones I use, but would just require some time to get used to it. With current pandemic situation I believe the market has decreased drastically and its been very competitive for the few positions that are available which happens to be quite overwhelming for a junior artist. So far from all my applications I've only received 2 interested answers from visualization firms which unfortunately didn't even follow up with any interviews.

I'm trying to get any advices from more experienced professionals on how to get that first job to get me started, or business owners advice on what they look for on applicants. I believe I have the right qualities and skills for a 3D artist but have just been struggling on getting noticed in such a big competitive environment, so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards.

Hi there! Congrats on the big decision. Getting into a new industry can be a very exciting and challenging! In my experience, it does take some patience and flexibility to get where you want to go though. And I find that destination does change over time. I don't know what advice I can give you about finding an archviz job specifically, but I can tell you how things have worked out in my own career/life.