Things Might Get Worse?

EddieLeon

As if things weren't bad enough, here is what AIA's chief Economist has to say about next year's construction activity:

http://www.aia.org/aiarchitect/thisweek08/0711/0711b_consensus.cfm

Health is the only industry that will have some growth. Yikes!

Obviously, it's not all doom and gloom. There will still be plenty of work out there for us. But, it's a good time to keep a sharp focus on where the money will be flowing...

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

God, I have no idea what he or anyone else is talking about in terms of a building slowdown.

I work in the furniture industry. It has never been busier. Haven't seen this much activity in years.

And MASSIVE projects as well. Office renovations and new towers. If our clients are nervous, they sure aren't showing it.

The residential market may have tanked, but the commercial market here in Chicago, as well as NY/DC/Philly/Etc is friggin booming.

It flies in the face of all the economic forecasts that you get on the news.

Go figure.

If it's going to slow down, I wish it would hurry up. I'd like a free weekend again sometime before I die.

Or am I the only one that's busy?

God, I have no idea what he or anyone else is talking about in terms of a building slowdown.

you'd better get your head out of the sand

no1 economic indicator of a health - construction - specifically houses - when that starts to slow then you know things are going down the tube

i'm working in the Gulf and perhaps the busiest area of construction in the world - senior executives of developers i have talked to are nervous................ they reckon another six months and a lot more of these megaprojects are going to quietly disappear or go into hibernation

I've had one project cancelled $400 million worth and it was on site............that now needs a redesign to fit a new cost model

recession is on the way.............belive it