Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Why v-ray is better than mental ray

Name
    Ramy Hanna
    Forum Username
    ramy

United States

Default Why v-ray is better than mental ray

Ok. I've been working on an animation for the last several months using mental ray. I've been really happy with the lighting results, but totally frustrated with the sampling. I switched over to unified sampling in mental ray hoping it would work faster...it did, but even with the noise in the image I was still getting 30min / frame @ 800px.

It was just too slow for an animation. So I thought I'd switch everything over to v-ray. WOW. Off the bat I was getting crazy fast rendering times with very comparable results.

I will say that the materials and lighting in mr are more "physically accurate", the results in v-ray are great considering the render times.

Here are my results...

If you want to know more about my sampling tests here are the links:
    DMC vs. Unified
    Unified sampling

happy rendering!

Name
    Rafael Lopez
    Forum Username
    rafaellopez

United States

Default Re: Why v-ray is better than mental ray

Hello Ramy

Thanks for sharing these point or differences between Mental Ray and Vray. I started with Mental Ray, has the same issues too. I now work with Vray, but I am considering to work back with Mental Ray. Thanks for sharing. Love your work.

Name
    Jim Buchanan
    Forum Username
    jimbuchanan1

Hey Ramy,
    interesting comparison - thanks.
    Have you tried iray? Easier to set up than both, but needs some serious graphics
    card(s).
    Check out Jeff Patton's site: http://jeffpatton.net/

Veteran Member

Name
    Chris MacDonald
    Forum Username
    Macker

United Kingdom