Newbie Looking for Right Software

jimbob

Please forgive me if this has been debated to death already (I've been looking through the forums without much luck), but I am trying to find a package for interactive walkthroughs. I want to be able to create the walkthroughs for CD and also real-time for the web.

I've been looking at Virtools, Macromedia, Quest3d, Wirefusion, Visuall, etc. All these packages seem to have very limited demos and very few real-time over-the-web examples. Some of the few I've seen seem to have that "plastic" CG look. The lighting on Visuall's demo looks very nice but their site seemed somewhat spotty and I'm a little hesitant to spent that kind of money if their demos don't work 100% of the time.

I'm new to the architectural scene but I've been working with Maya and Lightwave for 4-5 years and would like to continue using them if possible. It seems most packages are written with 3DS Max in mind (which I don't have a license for).

Does anyone have an opinion or could point me in the direction of some on-line examples? Anyone working with any of these on large-scale projects?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Thanks for the quick response ihabkal. I checked out the site and his work is great! Do you know of any plugins for LW for interactive walkthroughs (other than Macromedia)? It would be great to create content with an app that I'm already familiar with. I know Maya had one several years ago (Maya Real Time Author), but it doesn't seem to be around anymore.

One of the best I've seen so far - Visuall - is a plugin for 3DS Max.

no sorry I don't know. I always wanted to use lightwave before especially when the max scanline renderer used to suck before Brazil and Vray... Lightwave has a great renderer full of features... can even do Hypervoxels skys and other things...

If i'm correct you're looking for a thirth party package that can author your 3D models into an interactive walkthrough....