Vray - best for Architectural Rendering?

alexoctagon

I know these posts are often the start of fierce debate but I would really appreciate some level headed advice on this.

I've been using Lightwave for 8 years and it has and continues to be great for raytracing. But for radiosity (architectural viz), it's way to slow. After reading loads of things about Maxwell, Mental Ray, Brazil, they look great but it sounds as if they are too slow for animation work. From what I understand Max/Vray is a very reasonable quality for an acceptable render time - sub 20mins per frame for broadcast?

Does this all sound correct?

Cheers for any help in advance,

Alex

Alex, are you using Fprime?

If so, you should be able to get broadcast res. frames in well below 20 minutes-even with radiosity. And it won't set you back more than £200!

My advice is stick with LW at least until release 9. It's going to be almost a complete rewrite and rendering speed is, apparently, going to be a major improvement. The renderer is already a seperate .dll file (not many people noticed as it was done so subtly) which opens up possibilities for using other renderers.

You can already use Maxwell with LW but you won't get an increase in render times-far from it. Kray is another, faster option.

When you see the amazing results people get using VRay, even with substandard models, it is tempting to change but at the moment, that means changing to the Autodesk stable and everything that brings with it (not least cost!)

Check out all the options if you want to change e.g Cinema 4D. It's steadily gaining popularity among the non-Max people.

From my experience using Final Render and a little Vray, they both can do amazing things quickly. But it all depends on the scene, particularly the AA needed.