grain in white areas

Guest nazcaLine

Guest nazcaLine

i am making some draft renders and i got these grain all over the white surfaces.

i get grain when i render with low presets but this time is too much, and only on the white .

my settings: irr map in very low preset, 30-20, light cache 300 samples, big vray lights in windows.

any help will be appreciated, thanks.

Eduardo.

I tried recreating your problem with my testing room. The LC samples seemed to have a big effect as did the shadow samples.

Also the QMCsampler settings when pushed down too low had the same effect on the test rendering.

I'm not an expert (I've been doing vray interiors for less than a fortnight) but I recon you need to look at the QMC sampler settings. The default values should be giving reasonable results. I'm looking for confirmation on my guesses rather than offering advice.

I tried recreating your problem with my testing room. The LC samples seemed to have a big effect as did the shadow samples.

Also the QMCsampler settings when pushed down too low had the same effect on the test rendering.

I'm not an expert (I've been doing vray interiors for less than a fortnight) but I recon you need to look at the QMC sampler settings. The default values should be giving reasonable results. I'm looking for confirmation on my guesses rather than offering advice.

I think the LC is the first problem, if you're using QMC AA it can be a solution, but adapt subdivs don't need to increase so much QMC sampler i think so ;)

Guest nazcaLine

i'm using vray 1.5.

the qmc sampler is on default, 0.01 , and yes all have the same material. i'll try rising the light cache samples, i always keep them low for test renders. let's see what happens if i increase the vray shadow samples...

Guest nazcaLine

i increased lc to 700 and the shadow subdv from 8 to 12, and it didn't work much...

right now rendering with 300 lc down again, and qmc sampler to 0.004. ...

Guest nazcaLine

look at this.