Total Noob V-Ray Question

amoroso

Hey guys Im fairly new to V-Ray. Im on 3DS 8 and running Vray 1.5. I purchased a tutorial online from Gnomon workshop and was trying to firgue out why when I start off with the Vray render with no light at all that my renders are the same as the built in renderer in 3DS. The Vray Render should be noticably darker especially with a black background...

mental_ray_179.jpg

That is what I get from the VRAY render,

and this is what I get from the standard Mental Ray:

mental_ray_179.jpg

I do have GI activated and still having this problem... thats why I am confused. Ive been also been following basic tutorials of lighting objects and again I dont get dark renderings at all when I start off in VRAY

Below is a pic from the tutorial from what Im talking about... and how it looks like when vray is loaded and when you F9 render it with no settings set at all. It is noticbally dark but not totally blacked out. You can see the shadows and all that and the darkness... compare that to my first rendered image from vray... not even close in comparison... how does a plane and a teapot look like when you render with loaded vray settings?

tutorial_example_767.jpg

Thanks guys!

yup, thats how it looks (your render) cause you haven't actually told the renderer how it should calculate the lights and shadows and so-forht.

enable 'indirect ilumination, and then you will see that the two different colors of the plane and teapot will start bouncing of each other. After that, enable the 'GI environmet skylight overide

then, and here is what many forget, if you don't use your own light source, max will use its own default light system, so turn it off by going to the global switches and de-select the 'default lights, (when you add your own lights this setting should automatically be turned off)

hope it helps man!! and welcome to the comm.

Thanks for that info!