Autocad 2007 : Roofs?

Andy Park

Hi.

I'm new to autocad and I am really struggling to create roofs for residential buildings. I know i can create a pline then extrude with a taper. however this is very simplified i need something for more complex roofs.

i've searched the net and cgarchitect and most of the roof references talk about roof slabs?? I think is is ADT not Autocad (not sure though).

Can someone point me in the right direction for a tutorial. i have roof plans, elevations and angles.

p.s i downloaded roofbuilder tool. i can't get it to create the correct extrusions. This is the last thing i need to do to finish a project and it driving me crazy?

can you load up an image of The roof plan(s)?

one old-school Type Technique That i still use

is

set up The floor plan and extrude walls vertically from That

draw lines away from The corners of The bldgs To locate The elevations

place each Elevation in its corresponding location relating To The floor plan

rotate by 90 degress so That it is standing up facing The bldg/floor plans

Then you can Trace over The roof outline making a closed polyline

and Then extrude (back Toward The bldg 3d model) and Then slice

off The Roof planes where indicated by The OPPOSITE elevation

just one Technique among others, you can also draw The roof pitch

from The corners, fillet in The middle, close The polyline and extrude

That makes a solid roof piece

hope This isnt Too confusing.

maybe post an image That might help get Things started

Thanks

randy

The first is the roof plan the second is the isometric of the building the roof is goin on. the current roof that is on it doesn't have an overhang so i need to change it. I made that one by drawing the profile extrude it back the boolean any needed slopes. dont want to have to do that again.:mad:

Hi Andy

Not been in the architectual side I can only sugest how i would do it in autocad. like randy I would use closed poly lines then extrude them back.