Help on scaling in autocad 2008

ace1721

Hi there!

I am a student of autocad 2008. I was confused when my instructor explains about scales. Here in PI we use metric system.

My question is.... First before you start your work you must set your units to millimeter, right? Then how would you set your drawings to 1:50mts or 1:100mts. Like every line/ measurement that you put were all in 1:50mts. or 1:100mts.

Another, if you already set upped your drawings to 1:50mts or 1:100mts., you cannot avoid to do a spot details, right? You usually use a bigger scale in this for instance like 1:20mts how can you change your scale in your drawing in this spot detail drawing.

How that theres someone who can teach me how to do this step by step. I'm no fast learner and need to have a patient helper/teacher to explain to me.

Sorry and thanks in advance! PLEASE!!!!:confused: :confused: :(

You should learn how to use ViewPorts (VP) and adjust there Scale settings.

There are a lot of thinks you can do with viewports, so it is to complex to write it all down here.

You can also rotate your VP relative to your ModelSpace (MS)

This way you can also draw one side of a symetrical object and let it plot both sides (to make 2 viewport, one rotated 180 in X or Y).

You can read that there is a lot to do with VP's, so learn the basics of scaling them first, and after you adjusted the scale I recommend that you lock them to avoid mistakes of re-scaling.

Good Luck.

Hi, I also use metric system.

Autocad draws vectors, so its kinda easy to scale up or down latter. using scale/reference

What I do is to use absolute scale. Thats 1= 1 unit of whatever. Lets say I have a building, 20 mts height, thats 20 units.

l=20 click. done