Suggested Onyx Improvements

Crazy Homeless Guy

I have been using Onyx Tree for several years. One of the things that bothers me is that this software has not further developed over the years. I think the only noticeable thing is the addition of the flower version. There are several features that I think would make this software more powerful, and more user friendly. I think I am going to send an email to the developers, and point them towards this thread. I encourage anyone else who is a user of Onyx to post their suggestions. I want to see this software thrive and develop.

Easy implementations ( I think )

- Ability to opt for a key-in of all parameters, sometimes the slider is just not accurate enough.

-Ability to somewhat automate the age a tree by up scaling all the parameters at once. Perhaps the upscale can have varying user adjustable degrees on how much it effects each area.

-Maybe a scale human that can be turned on for reference on how tall a tree is. Even though it has metric units, visual reference is often better in my opinion.

-Imperial as well as metric units.

- Undo parameters, or temporary save of tree state. Sometimes I have a copy I am almost happy with, but not quite. I need to save the tree at this point, before I start modifying, because I might mess up everything, and need to revert to the saved version.

- User friendly system at selecting color, at least I struggle with the one that it has.

Complex implementations

-The ability to click on a branch in the window, and reshape it by pushing and pulling with my mouse. This would give me a lot more control when only one branch on the tree is troublesome, and everything else is perfect.

- More leaf types, of perhaps let the user load a leaf type that they have created by tracing over a leaf in 2d.

-Refinement of the way a branch branches off. To me it off looks clunky, and 3d. Often need a little love in PhotoShop to clean it up.