FormZ for Architectural/Precise Modeling

3darchitect

I'm an undergrad architecture student looking to find a 3d modeling program that's right for me. I've tried lots of stuff and am now looking into trying FormZ. I want to specialize in Architectural Illustration once I get my degree, so I'm looking for a program that gives me a lot of easy 3d power, but also allows me to draw off of plans and use precise measurements.

I'm downloading the demo now and will start fiddling with it asap, but until then, does anyone have anything to say about FormZ in this area?

I hate it but my colleague loves it. Although this is a pretty pointless reply it does show you that its what you have experience with that you promote etc. I personally find it very buggy and slow on my Mac and not very good with large AutoCAD drawings. The only reason I open it is because I don't have AutoCAD and sometimes need to see text which SketchUp cannot display.

I think FormZ works great for the precise modeling that those of us with degree's in architecture try to adhere to.

I had a studio in undergrad that focused on using the computer to design and we used FormZ.

The firm I work for also uses formz for the architectural modeling aspect of it and then 3dsmax and vray for materials/lighting/rendering.

I think FormZ works great for the precise modeling that those of us with degree's in architecture try to adhere to.

Accuracy in modeling is not just for those with academic qualifications in Architecture you know...! I would put forward that all of these programs can be as accurate as you want them to be.

Accuracy in modeling is not just for those with academic qualifications in Architecture you know...! I would put forward that all of these programs can be as accurate as you want them to be.