3D drawing size and efficiency (AutoCAD)

CHE

Hello again,

This time my question is how can a 3d drawing size be improved in AutoCAD. I have been modeling an Ucranian church for the last 3 months at work. We are planning to use the model as an interactive way of designing the new elevator expansion area.

I have been using solids to model the church, which is almost done (bare model without textures).

The size of my file is around 45 MB. So I was wondering if anybody knows a way to improve space and efficiency when modeling with solids in AutoCAD. Thanks again.

biggrin2.gif

Guest ghraben

OH DEAR LORD!!! a 45mb acad model?!?

just based on the size of the model, i'd say you have an excessive amount of geometry in your model. my guess is that a large portion of the smaller details that you have modeled could be effectively reproduced with materials and mapping rather than building them in geometry.

you will definately have to slim the model down if you want to do anything "interactive" with it like vrml.

another suggestion is to seperate the model into 2 or more files: the "background" model and a "focus" model. rip the elevator expansion area (or whatever you are mainly concerned with changing) out and save as a seperate file. then you won't have the overhead of all the extraneous geometry. you can always xref your focus model into your background model for presentation drawings, etc.

Thanks ghraben,

One solution:

1.- Export the model to an ACIS (.sat) file and then insert it back (ACIS file) into a new CAD drawing. Save it and set up the layers. This process reduced the model's size to 22 MB.

2.- Break the model into 4 pieces (4 drawings). (like you said).

3.- Xref them all into a single drawing (background drawing) for future design process.

It seems to work well so far. I'll try to replace as many details as I can with textures (I have to learn a little bit more about mapping in CAD :rolleyes: ) Thanks a lot.