Update farm via Backbunrer?

Crazy Homeless Guy

So, I was running some updates on the render farm today and a concept that may or may not be possible dawned on me. Can I run updates to the farm via Backburner? ...in other words, send a batch file to the farm to run on each machine via 3dsmaxcmd.exe. Or something along those lines.

I know you can render AfterEffects through Backburner, so I am guessing there is a possibility to execute multiple things. Though I am no coder, so if it is to technical, I am out of luck.

Maybe I am just being to hopeful. It wouldn't be the first time.

Edited by Crazy Homeless Guy

How successful you would be may depend on what kind of update you wanted to run. If the update requires user interaction (accepting eula or just clicking "next") unless there is a flag you can run to force an install.

One way you can do it would be by while sending a Max scene to render (or by sending a scene which doesn't have to be anything at all, just a b.s. scene that each machine on the farm can grab a frame of, just for the sake of step 2):

which is to set scene to run a pre-render script (which is somewhere they can all see, of course.)

That script would simply be:

ShellLaunch "path\to\the\update\to\run" ""

I use this all the time as a post-render script which in turn runs a python script to send me a text message so I know when a job is done when I am rendering over the weekend or something.

Also, you can use this method to set the *.ini file for the EXR settings in as in your other post.

From the Maxscript Help:

setINISetting

In that case, the MaxScript should be something like:

setINISetting "c:/path/to/openexr.ini" "ExrExportInternalDefaultParams" "Dflt_RGBABitDepth" "HALF"

Although I haven't tried it myself.

Edited by luckymutt

Michael,