Advice on Vectorworks 2008 maybe Sketchup w/ Cinema 4D 11.5

vanessap

Hi there,

Firstly thank you for all the information I have read so far, I have spent some time searching on here about the above topic.

I am a second year Architecture student with the intentions of practicing in Vancouver in the future, I use Vectorworks for my 2D drafting (I'm a huge admirer of Atelier Bow-wow's work) and use a intel duo macbook pro w/ snow leopard. Until this point I have managed to use hand drawing and layering to show context in my work but would like to add 3D modelling to my vocabulary. I understand that the industry standard is Autocad and I wondered if anybody here uses the above? What they think of the finish? If you might recommend an alternative and if you might know of any good tutorial sites.

Thank you so much for your time and help,

Vanessa.

Hi Vanessa, I am an architect and use VW2008 most everyday and have used VW for a very long time. Like you, I work off a MacBook Pro with Tiger primarily and Windows XP (via VMware Fusion). For 3D, I model with VW2008 (hidden line), Cinema 4D (polygon) and Moi3D (nurbs) and render with Vray (VrayForC4D) and a little with Maxwell Render and Fry Render.

The above is by far not an ideal set up but it does work. What is lacking is the time and, uh, the artist in me. Both are due, in part, to my also being a partner in a small architectural firm.

Regarding AutoCad. It is the defacto 2D CAD app. in North America and is usually combined with 3ds max or Maya for 3D.

More importantly than all the above if you want to practice architecture, i.e., large projects in a large firm, is you should make friends with the inevitable - BIM. You probably know about BIM; if not see buildingSmartAlliance for a start: http://buildingsmartalliance.org/. The defacto app is Revit (also Autodesk).