Software vs. Hardware?

JDgraphX

Hi, newbie here. I know this topic is still under debate, and perhaps being beat to death, but I must share my opinion and also get other people's...

I am preparing to start my own business in Architectural CG, and as a one man show with a limited budget, I can't afford to simply go out and purchase Brazil, Final Render, and VRay, just to see which one works best for me. I will be doing interiors and exteriors, as well as "fly-through" animations. I had an opportunity to try a demo of Brazil, and was very impressed. The speed and quality of Max's scanline renderer aren't even close, as you all well know. I am looking for more insight, from an all-around architectural point of view, which one might be best for me. As in an earlier post, I'm also looking for a comprehensive comparison w/ the same computer, scene, model, etc. between the three mentioned renderers. However, I also wanted to add to the mix... has anyone tried the ART PURE card? It advertises as being far superior in speed, however the only example I've seen of Architecture, is not at all impressive to me. Thanks for your opinions. ;)

Hi and welcome - your best option is to try all the plugins before you buy them and see which one you prefer in terms of ease of use. Theres also a free limited version of Vray and if you speak nicely to Cebas they may offer a time limited copy of FR for testing. They all have their good points and then its down to personal taste. I don't know about the Pure card but a dealer would probably let you see how it works.

Thanks everyone for your input!