advice for freelance work (student)

joseph alexander

I'm a student (RISD Barch), and I just completed my first freelance project. However, I'm unsure as to how I should price my services or deal with my clients.

The client ended up changing a great deal of the project last minute. Most notably explaining that he wanted the renders to look good at 4' x 8'. I had initially quoted him for three 2000 x 2000 pixel renders. I didn't know how long it would take to render out a 6000 x 12000 render, so i told him I would give him one perspective at a slightly lower cost to which he agreed to. (big mistake on my part.) At any rate it took 70 hours (including render time, building custom textures, and making last minute changes.) and I charged him $1300 US.

My questions for the proffesionals are:

1.) Is there a way that I can see some expamples of contracts? I'm unsure as to how I should charge. (money down, dealing with last minute changes, charging by the hour)

2.) How much should I try to make? For hour/project. There's a huge demand for this type of work where I am. However for this work to be viable for post grad employment I need to be making at least $20 an hour. I'm also worried that the field will become overly saturated in the next few years.

It seems that this type of work can be very stressfull because clients seem to change what they want during the final stages of your process. Is there a good strategy to tone down last minute changes? It seemed like i was in a position where I felt uncomfortable arguing over any changes regardless of how ridiculous they seemed to be.

Also, I'm curious, do any of you have any horror stories in regards to dealing with clients? I there anything I should look out for?

(sorry for all the questions I'm just starting out.)

-Joseph

Joseph

It's very difficult to be strong with clients when you are starting out...We've been their!