UK tax

Gander0

I'm sure there is some useful information about tax in the forums somewhere but my searches haven't been very successful.

If someone could point me in the right direction I'd appreciate it.

This is my first year of freelancing within the UK and therefore of self employed tax payment.

I cant say its been the most productive year and I definitely haven't been putting enough aside so am looking to rectify matters before its too late.

One thing that might help is writing off computer and software costs as capital allowances. Has anyone any experience in doing this?

Also, is it worth forking out on any extra hardware or software that I've been putting off buying before the end of the tax year and how much of the purchases could I write off?

Many thanks

Thanks Matt,

I was thinking I might have to take that route, but wanted to get my head around some of the possibilities before I approached anyone.

Does your accountant have a set rate for running through and helping you complete your return?

I don't suppose you have any recommendations?

Cheers

Just like Matt says, get yourself an accountant ASAP. They will have different fees for different levels of service but you need to approach them to find out what these might be.

If you have been freelancing for a year already then you need to be careful as I am sure that you are supposed to register as being self-emplyed with the Inland Revenue or HMRC very soon after you start.

An accountant will know all the things you need to do and be able to advise you on everything you have asked questions about. There are a few routes you can take, one is as a sole trader, then the other most obvious one would be o incorporate your business. You then need to consider whether to register for VAT. Again, a decent accountant can advise you and guide you in ways that you won't get on a forum. Indeed, you would be asking for trouble if you relied on the forums for this kind of information.

Jim