Trying out plant plugins

Gnarly Cranium

There's a painful shortage of good info on plant plugins out there, on the internet in general and on forums. I've spent the past few weeks tearing my hair out trying to find one that will suit my needs in max 6, and I thought I'd jot down my findings in case anybody else finds it helpful. I'm certainly no expert on optimizing scenes for good render times, I'm just a self-taught freelancer doing what I can. My machine may have issues that will not correlate with the behavior of these products on other people's computers-- this is just my experience with trying to test these plugins.

I have an Opteron 150 machine with a GeForce FX5950 Ultra video card, and I'm running max 6 in OpenGL, with no other plugins besides the plant stuff.

My current project is two mid-detail hopsital flyarounds about a minute or so each for a DVD-- one will be 15 acres with many buildings, currently I'm working on a smaller one.

For these tests I'm trying to add plants to a 30,000 poly building scene with 1 sunlight with raytraced shadows and 1 skylight with shadow-casting turned off. (I'm still trying to find a good light dome script, since max's GI is so screamingly SLOW). I'm trying to keep the render time below 2 or 3 minutes a frame.

When I try to scatter 1500 instanced AEC scotch pines (AEC trees are the kind that come with max 6, this one 68,915 polys each at medium detail) across the landscape, max says it's run out of memory and crashes. (considering the scene would end up with over 100 million polys, can ya blame it?)