Is it worth me learning Revit....?

l GAP l

Hi everybody - I'm about to go into my second year as an Architecture student, I already have a sound grasp of using photoshop and autocad and have been learning 3ds max for a couple of months now. Recently I seem to be hearing Revit mentioned quite a bit but I don't really understand exactly what its purpose is? Does it do a similar function to autocad? Is it worth learning at my stage? Currently I just do plans/elevations in autocad, drag them into 3ds max and use splines to create the 3d model, will revit improve my work flow?

I'm sorry to ask as I'm sure this question has been asked a million times but I just can't seem to find a direct answer. Thanks in advance for any responses.

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In your case I would say yes. It will broaden your CV and enhance your chances of employment. In my job I use AutoCAD and 3DS Max. I would find having to learn Revit wouldn't have as many advantages as improving my existing skills within Max and AutoCAD. I use .Net to improve AutoCAD so that it matches the work practices within my company. Revit is a drafting program just like AutoCAD. Both can produce bills of materials and can be driven by design factors (admittedly AutoCAD does require .net or similar programming to get the most out of it). It does come down to a mixture of what your work requires and your personal preference too. As of yet every project I have worked on has determined that DWG (AutoCAD's native format) is the standard for team drawings. I haven't worked with another company that uses Revit.....