suggestions for optimal vray settings when animating?

stayinwonderland

I'm about to render a small scene and this will be my first decent animation render in vray (because it takes so long I haven't bothered before, but now it's serious porfolio polishing time).

Here is a sample (note: just a test render, the final will not be as noisey):

test__0210.jpg

There's a lot of soft reflections which means high reflection subdivs and on the rest renders there's obviously flickering.

I just want my final render to be as smooth as possible but like I say, have never used vray for animation before so don't know the methods for nice clean frame-by-frame renders.

I saw someone say to use brute force? I'm currently using irradiance with light cache.

Trying to keep frames down to sub 10 minutes for 720 x 406 x 270 frames @ 30fps.

Thoughts??

test2__0001.jpg

Im no expert on animation but i would always render the Irradiance map and Light Cache out first individually to files with "dont render final image" on.

Once you have a good lighting calc to use from file, its easier to optimse settings to get the effect you want with a minimum render time per frame.

I guess with that resulution you would want to get a render time less than a minute per frame?

hmm, that's interesting. I'd like a short render time obviously, but right now I have a minute per frame at smaller than 720x406 and the very lowest settings, so that isn't a fair expectation.

I don't suppose you could elaborate on the technique you mentioned at all? I'm not familiar with that process. Much appreciated :)

Soft reflections and short render times don't exactly walk hand-in-hand for a high quality image. I'm used to waiting in the 15-20min range for slightly bigger (1280x720). You can save some extra time by reducing your frame rate to 24fps (23.976 actually).