daylight system, radiosity and interior space

ninghai

i am new to the radosity in max6. to do an interior scene, it is quite easy in Lightscape with system defined daylight coming in from an opening/window. but i found it extremely frustrating with max. can some explain a bit the radiosity settings in max when rendering an interior scene? is the daylight system alone enough? (in my test, if i don't use manual setting on the daylight/sunlight, the light is so bright that it washed out all the colors, and yet, it doesn't produce sharp shadows no matter what i try.) or do i still need to put omnis all over even though i am using radiosity? am i missing sth. big here? a simple workflow steps would certainly shed some light.

thanks.

hi,

first thing is u must model to scaled. u have to play with the material's reflectance value as it would in the real world. otherwise, the material would washed out. usually, i just simply put a sunlight with intensity about 4000-5000.

keep it up :)

guys, thanks for the reply.

i did model to scale, using "meters". and i used default material without changine any setting. also i tried the automatic exposure control. none of them gives me desired effect like LightScape does. i am not just talking about subtle difference. the max result is horrible. for instance, i have a closed room with a window. there is an overly-bright spot on the floor from the light coming from the window, but the whole room is still fairly dark...

is there a simple tutorial somewhere on using daylight system, radosity on an interior scene?

also, when u render interior scene, do you need to add any lights other than the sunlight/daylight coming from the window?

very frustrated. :confused: