Best digital camera for $1000?

isagreg

Greg,

This is a sensitive subject. Some people love their Canons, some love their Fuji's. I am biased I have always like Nikon.

It seems everybody is recomending the Nikon D70. Around Feb of this year it was selling around $1,299.00 with the basic lanes made for the camera. (Most likely, you will need this lens). Now I have seen them at NY for around $900.00. Be aware some of those discount houses in NY are selling gray market cameras. They are perfectly new, but their are comming from their distribution network in the Far East and have no warranty support in the US. Another trick they do is that they will sell you a barebones camera without batteries or some of the other needed accesories. You will need a compact flash disk. I have a Hitachi micro drive 4gb and it can hold a lot of pictures.....

Look at the reviews.... there is many.....

Good Luck

Elliot

Thanks for the reply Elliot

I am total newbie in photography. All I want is a nice a camera with decent resolution (6-8 Mp) decent image quality (minimum noise) capable of doing nice day/night shots, close-ups, indoor shots (low light conditions).

Besides I heard that if the camera has manual exposure control then it is possible to take the same picture with different exposures and make HDRI out of those images (may be I am wrong here)

I went to CompUSA the other day and there were these 4 cameras:

Sony Cyber-shot Pro DSC-F828

Nikon CoolPix 8700

Canon PowerShot Pro1

Olympus Camedia C-8080

They're all 8Mp, non-SLR (although in some reviews they're called SLR-like, prosumer, semi-professional)

Also I heard a lot of good thigs about Nikon D70 and Canon EOS Digital Rebel (they are 6 Mp but true SLR cameras and often can be purchased with basic lenses - I know nothing about lenses) But they're more expensive than I want to spend (not interested in gray market).