Visa requirements and working in the USA

marchilton

Hello all.

I was wondering if any one on here had any knowledge or experience in looking for work in the USA. I am a British citizen and wanted to know the feasibility of moving to the US, namely Seattle. Is it possible to get a visa for this kind of work? I'm gathering it's fairly hard if not impossible. Also do arch vis/3d companies really look to employ foreign workers or is the industry already over saturated as is? I've 6 years experience working in the industry and although I have a degree in Digital Animation I don't have a masters which I think may affect visa applications? Any information from personal experiences or hearsay is very welcome at this point.

Many many thanks.

Marc

You have four options to get a visa in the US;

E-3 visa which is the best bet. Needs a bachelors degree from an accredited university and 3 years of work experience plus a sponsored company that meets the requirements. Best thing is your spouse can work.

H-1B standard working visa. I believe you need a bachelors degree from an accredited university and a company that will sponsor you that meets the requirements.

O-1 visa is a special case visa. If you don't have formal education but you are very well known in your field, have had multiple interviews, wrote papers, did lectures, has been on TV, ect ect. Think of it like a celebrity visa.

And finally a J-1 visa which is a student exchange visa. This is highly unlikely to be possible unless the company has proven to the government that is is a training facility or school. It's time consuming and costly for a company to setup, hence why it is a very unlikely visa to obtain.

If you don't have a degree, your only option is to provide DOCUMENTED work experience from every employer on a signed letter headed document. This includes any freelance. Pay slips and base statements is not enough.