Workflow best practice question: Segmenting a 3D mass

bdb

I am a student with access to AutoCAD, Revit and 3DS Max (2015). I am working conceptual masses and am looking for suggestions on how best to segement a larger conceptual mass into smaller regular peices.

Previously I have done this in 3D AutoCAD, taking the mass and segmenting it with planes set at regular intervals. This process does not seem available in Revit where ideally I'd like keep my project to utilize Revit's other documentation tools.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to how they would attack this problem?

Thanks,

Edited by bdb
Took out reference to 3d printing.

What is your goal for the segments of the Revit geometry? You can link (not import) an FBX from Revit into Max, then use modifiers such as Slice Plane and Edit Poly to work with the geometry non-destructively. The link can be updated by a new export from Revit and the geometry will be preserved when you remove the modifiers.

Well, the use is ultimately to feed the segmented masses into a 3D printing workflow but, for the moment, we are working at the conceptual stage so the real problem before us is efficiently segmenting a single large mass into smaller regular masses, hence the workflow question.

I've only worked with very simple FXB linking so if I can confirm a possible workflow: Say I create a complex curved mass in Revit. One can work with it in 3D Max with FXB linking, segment it with planes at regular intervals etc, and then re-import it back to Revit in a workable (able to assign it to a sheet etc.)? Is that correct? That would be awesome! What do you mean by "removing modifiers"?