What sort of 3d?

klaas

Hello,

since a year i've been working at an architectural office doing 3d work and designing. My 3d skills haven't been improving since i can't dedicate more time to it than (roughly) one day a week. This bothers me. Actually my interests in 3d have been increasing. So eventually i would like to do 3d fulltime. But i would have to choose to do the work at an architectural office, a 3d office or freelance.

My question is: what benifits do exist in doing 3d work in an architectural office or in a 3d office or freelance? How much "designing" can be done when working in a 3d office, since i don't want to lose the creative side of my work. I just can't go out and "test" out these jobs. Which 3d position is most fun?

Tell me your experiences.

Klaas

my experiance -

i work as a 3d guy in a architecural practice. i never do any design. i only draw what im told to. this personally suits me fine and dandy :)

(bloody architects, need stringing up, the lot of them. but hey, thats for another post :) )

in my experiance as working freelance, in a 3d company and working in an architects office, you do one or tuther. 3d drawing is a full time job. designing is a full time job. imo you'd find difficulty putting all your efforts into both.

i've got an architect collegue in my work for example, who designs all day but would really like to get into 3d drawing and illustration. the bosses say he cant do both. physically impossible in our office. if he does 3d he'll really enjoy it and im sure it'd suit him fine, but then he'd loose out on the design side and even get rusty if he ever needs to turn back to it at any time.

ask urself what you'd prefer to do - 3d or design.

im sure there are guys out there doing both, so listen to their argument too :)

Well, I work as an interior designer in a design firm as my full time job, however i also do freelance designing at the same time. On my full time job,