New Laptop- Advice needed :)

Hi guys, im an architecture student, and i'm going to change my work-notebook (Toshiba qosmio x770 3D) for a powerfull one. A few days ago i found a good price Asus Rog- 5752vy i7-6700HQ(2.6Ghz.6gb cache) . 17,3" HD 1920x1080,with 16GB up to 32 ram DDR4, Hard disk drive 512GB ssd (3 hd slot).Nvidia GTX980M(4gb).

Till now , as said, i worked with a Qosmio x770 3D ,i7-2670QM gpu 2.20Ghz,8GB ram, gtx 560M .. do you guys think that the working permormance will have a sensible improvement?

(price is really really good, my notebook is having sporadic system problems and im actually working for my thesis) that's why im thinking that this might be a good time for a nootebook-change.

Thanks and have a nice holiday :)

The performance would definitely be better, but does it have to be a laptop? Anyway, the specs look fine and if the price is right it won't be a bad choice. What software are you using?

yea, because i'm used to study/work in university so i think a workstation would not be a great choise for me.

I'm actually using: autocad,illustrator,photoshop,rhinoceros and Cinema4D(not much at the moment, but when needed.. ) :)

The performance would definitely be better, but does it have to be a laptop? Anyway, the specs look fine and if the price is right it won't be a bad choice. What software are you using?

yup, i'm used to work on my university biblio, so a workstation would not be a right choise for me. Autocad,Ai,Ps,rhinoceros and Cinema4d+Vray :)

• 2 weeks later...

sudden crashes at the start of OS and general freeze/sudden slowdowns while working with Ai-Cad . The actual price of the new one is going to be arount a bit less of 1000Euro.

Anyway there would even be the "new" possibility to chose between the Asus-Rog or the new Macbook pro: