Vray Adv vs Vray RT

pawelstasik

Hi everyone:)

I have a question about Vray Adv and Vray RT - simply: is it possible to achieve the same great realistic quality on Vray RT as on Vray Adv? I have to decide whether to go with GPU rendering or CPU. I do exteriors (and planning to do interiors and product visualization in the future) but I'm still a newbie (and my project don't look bad but I want to learn and learn and learn to achieve photo-realism one day) and for my last 2 projects I used RT with CUDA (GTX 1070) which (according to my tests) renders 3x faster than my i5-6600 but there were some problems (crashes during renders) and for last few renders I switched to RT CPU and then everything was OK (but very sloow). I want to reduce render times and buy new CPU or GPU and I was thinking about AMD Ryzen 7 1800X (for Ryzen I would also have to change my motherboard:/) and GTX 1080 Ti. But: GTX 1070 is 3x faster than my i5 - 6600 and also this AMD is 3x faster than i5-6600 so GTX 1070 = AMD Ryzen 7 1800X. And now the king - GTX 1080Ti which is probably 2x faster than 1070 (it has almost 2x more CUDA cores). So what do you guys suggest?

1. Buying GTX 1080Ti and using Vray RT (if there is no difference in quality between RT and Adv)

2. Buying AMD Ryzen 7 1800X and using Vray Adv

Thanks in advance!:)

And sorry for my english!

Quality is not about your render engine only, there are many factors that can make a great image, composition, color, materials, shaders, lighting,post work.

GPU rendering would be faster in some conditions, for instance product rendering, but for exteriors depending of your scene CPU will be way better, you are always limited to the amount of VRam in your video card for many GPU engine.

If you have the latest release of VRay there is a new 'real time' rendering that can match the same quality than the traditional render. If you want to use that.