Unity or Unreal for likely arch-vis standard?

Ernest Burden III

I have no experience yet at working with either of the 'game' engines, though I am curious and expecting I might want to work with one in the future. But which one?

I see ads for 3D generalists that want Unity skills. I see a lot of arch-vis using Unreal, especially by Chen Qingfeng, the former Lightscape master, who posts piles of work on LinkedIn--all Unreal.

Which is the likely 'standard' for our industry going forward? If I'm going to invest in one, I'ld like it to be the right one for the field. I realize there are the others like Lumion, but just between the two, which do we think will shake out as the winner for arch-vis?

In my experience, the easiest of all would be Autodesk Stingray or Max interactive. Interaction is very tight with 3D Max, it can read Autodesk and VRay materials.

Quality wise is not there yet but still very good.

Unity had a very large community, several of them dedicated to Arch Viz. The learning curve is a little steep but that's the standard for most Game engines. Quality wise is very good. But the strength of Unity is not quality. but customization and integration with other tools.

Several of the 'one click solutions' that you see around are base on Unity FYI.

Unreal has become the de facto for Arch Viz because of output quality. Learning curve it is steep, preparation of asset it is necessary, and here is where things get fussy. Forn instance if you have a scene in VRay, you just export to Stingray and you are almost ready to go, on Unity and Unreal you'll need to do some prep work.

Having said that Unreal is dedicating more and more resources to Arch Viz, I think they realized how big this industry is and how VR-AR are the cutting edge now, they are very focused to provide a more streamed workflow between Arch Viz scenes/Users and Unreal.