BIM vs. CAD

fabiobit

Ok. Let's start it like this: I am still an architecture student, but my father owns a company here in Rio de Janeiro. We deal with residential buildings and our clients are very prestigious, wealthy companies (Agenco, Opportunity, Gafisa, Multiservice, the list goes on - unless you live in Brazil, I doubt you ever heard of them anyway). Our number one concern (and I think it's everyone's concern) is not to lose our clients.

Speed, without losing quality, is what we are aiming for. Now, every single architecture company I can think of in Brazil is still using CAD as their main design technology. It seems to me that in the USA the firms are slowly changing over to BIM - and I am truly impressed with it. So is my father. We are searching the Net for testimonials and in-depth articles about it but so far we haven't heard much from other architects who decided to give it a try.

If you -know- the program or at least had some experience with BIM and can point out the difference, etc, please take a minute to give us your opinion. We want to hear the pros and cons of it, specially the difference between the packages and what we can expect of it. Would you recommend changing to BIM? My father is a bit afraid of the change, since everyone is still using AutoCAD and it might take a long time before everyone in the office learns how to operate the program properly, etc.. but he is also very impressed with the speed and general feel of the program (we downloaded the Revit trial, it is amazing).

Thank you in advance,

Fabio.

Bittar Arquitetos Associados Ltda.

I think the best advice I could give is to just download trial version of each BIM software that interest you.

There are currently many, but the TOP FOUR are :

ArchiCAD

Autodesk Revit

Autodesk Architectural Desktop

Bently Microstation Triforma