How do I charge

Tim Holmes

Hi Folks:

I am new to the ArchViz community, and would like to begin taking some work to supplement my income. I am really not sure how to charge for it. I have read over a couple threads here and elsewhere about pricing. The problem is while they speak about several different models for pricing (hourly, by the square foot, etc) they don't give any idea of prices per service.

What I would like to know, in general terms is:

1. Roughly what do you charge per hour for ArchViz modeling

2. Roughly what would you charge for a residential visualization for a 1600 sq/ft home, an interior, and an exterior

3. What would you charge for a full interactive (walkthrough) model of the same 1600 sq/ft home

Thanks

TIM

Eduardas:

Quite true, I would rank my skills at the low end of medium at this point, but I think improving. Here are a couple samples from a project that I am currently working on

Dining chairs added.jpg

Im not looking to get rich (at least at first) on this, but adding a bit to the bank account would be nice

Tim

WIP Shot of Breakfast Counter3.jpg

1. What would YOU charge for your work. What is your time worth to you?

2. I don't know anyone in this industry that charges for renderings based on the Sq. footage of a project.

3. Don't say "interactive(walkthrough)" They are two different things. An interactive is an immersive experience where you can move through an environment at your rate/ speed/ direction. A walkthrough is an animation where a camera follows a set path for a set time and ends or loops back to repeat.

Not to sound like a jerk, but honestly there has been so much written on this subject in these forums, if you can't spend the time to research and track it down, you aren't working hard enough. It's there. Spend some time looking at the gallery here and other studios and examine the level/ quality of work they are doing.