sketchup user :(

chamvaldez

hey guys, i'm cham and i'm kinda new here. i'm an architecture graduate and during my school days we used to do make our 3d models in sketchup, and when i joined cg architect i observed that all artists here uses 3d max, do i really need to switch to 3dmax? coz i'm really into architectural visualization

thank you guys :)

nah, use whatever makes you comfortable. There are plenty of SketchUp users around here too. That said, the software is just a tool so it's beneficial to have more than one screwdriver in your toolbox. You never know when the tool you use will get bought out and retired. Blender is free and getting more attention in arch viz lately too. http://www.blender3darchitect.com/architectural-visualization/interior-design-for-residence-with-blender-and-cycles/

It really depends on what you want to do.

If you plan on doing very organic shapes or computative designs there are other software that is more aimed toward it but if your doing more orthogonal geometry I'd say stick with SketchUp as long as it works for you.

Much have happened with SU plugins so now you can scatter plants in the millions without problems. You can do cloth simulations and much more directly inside SketchUp.

About speed, yes there are some limitations with SketchUp. As with all other software.

But I have worked with two imported Revitmodels of a big hospital that ran fine in SU.

Running just one of them in Max or even Revit was very slow in comparison.

A few quick tips are to turn off shadows while working.

Turn off profile edges and group loose geometry.

I'd say use what ever tool makes you most efficient and when you feel you have the need for more change software or use them together for what they are best at.

I don't give much for comments like "SketchUp is not a professional tool".